About the City Council

Geelong council is elected to provide leadership and good governance for the municipality and the local community.

Greater Geelong City Council elections were held in October 2017. Eleven councillors have been elected for a three-year term (to bring Greater Geelong back in line with local council elections, held every four years) and will be sworn in on 14 November 2017. The mayor is elected by the councillors for a maximum two year term.

The City of Greater Geelong (the City) is the organisation that provide services to the community and implements the strategic plan. More about local government.

Mayor and councillors

Eleven councillors represent the City of Greater Geelong.

The City's organisation structure

View the City's division, department and unit structure.

Contracts and tenders

We advertise tenders for a range of works and services within our municipality on a frequent basis. including

Council meetings

Meetings times and locations, agendas and minutes and how the meetings work.

Local laws

Information about local laws in our municipality.

Policies and governance

Governance ensures our decision making is transparent and accountable and that our operation is democratic and well managed.


Our reports, strategies, annual budgets and other documents from current and past Councils.


The greater geelong area is divided into four electoral wards.