Councillor allowances

Councillors are paid an annual allowance to recognise the demands placed on Councillors in carrying out their civic and statutory functions.

These allowances are set by the State Government in two parts.

Part A

Councils are categorised within three levels based on a Council’s population and total revenue. Geelong is among the biggest Councils and consequently is in the highest level.

From 1 December 2019 the allowances are:

Mayoral Allowance:  $100,434
Deputy Mayoral Allowance and Councillors Allowance:  $31,444

Part B

An additional 9.5 percent of the allowance set out in Part A is added to reflect the equivalent of the superannuation guarantee contribution.

Allowances are paid monthly in arrears.

Page last updated: Tuesday, 12 January 2021